Canadian Summer ’22-5: Mountain Biking & the Lake

Setup

The sun should come out today and the temps are going to be warmer. This should open up some stuff for us in terms of going out and doing things. This morning I have to admit the lack of my good coffee roasts is starting to add up. Not being able to go into town and get good coffee also stinks.

I know, first world problems. But I am who I am.

Bike Riding

This morning D & I hit the mountain bike trails at Tremblant for an actual ride on dirt. According to TrailForks this is the 8th time I have ridden here, but I have to admit that every time I’m here, it feels a little like my first time. We did manage to cobble together a pretty good loop, though one of the trails was on the more technical side, and in my rides here Philippe only brought me here once when it was just us because it’s one of the harder trails in the system.

But it does get you an awesome view.

We then tied together some other trails that I do remember, and made it a loop just over an hour. While this is not a bike-specific vacation we did want to hit some of the trails while here. An hour is good, because it gets us out and allows us to learn more. While it can be frustrating to not know how to get the most efficient loop some days, it’s also fun to be exploring. Today was a good loop in the end.

Trails were still a touch wet but not bad at all. The Strava link can be found here.

Quick Chainsaw

After lunch, I did an ATV check to see how it was acting, and it seems like it may be a coolant issue as it seems to complain when I stop and idle. I took it out with the chainsaw and trimmed up some face slappers & a widow maker on the stuff we had done. I also cut out 1 more tree on the main loop that we’re working on. Still optimistic that we can knock this out before we leave Saturday.

Then I dipped into the hot tub, because hot tub.

Boat

Mid afternoon we went to a town called Barkmere where D’s aunt has a lake cottage. I will say that it is totally inaccurate to call it that. It is an awesome retirement home on a huge lake that makes me want to retire and move to a lake right now. But the thing is, their house is so amazing that I just want to move into their house. It’s something they built themselves and is nothing short of beautiful. Simply a magnificent house design.

D’s Uncle Norman drove the boat and the kids did some water skiing. There were 10 of us there so we had to take turns, and on the 3rd loop they didn’t come back for a long, long time. So we decided to send out a search party to try to make sure they didn’t break down. I got the little outboard motor boat started and we set sail to try to find them. Truth be told I was hoping they were stranded in the middle of the lake but after a few minutes we came across them coming back.

Theo also showed up, as seen above.

Dinner

Tonight’s good meal turned out to be:

  • Salad to start
  • Paella, which was fabulous
  • Raspberry pie, upside down peach cake, and vanilla ice cream for dessert

An excellent meal, once again.

Summary

Damn I am really tired tonight. I don’t feel like I did a lot but here I am pretty beat, so I guess the day has added up on me. I love this life right now, and I’m enjoying it to the fullest. But it’s not even 9:00pm as I sit here and I feel like I could go to sleep. And soon I will.

Leave a comment