Melbourne November 19 Day 3: Sunrise and the Perfect Weather Day

I’m up at 6:00 again today, but this one isn’t for work. Today is our one day to wake everyone up to see the sunrise, or at least try. Weather is supposed to be good, and even though we may regret it later, we give them one shot at an early day. We all get up and head to the beach early. Then we sit and wait.

Today it was worth it.

Sunrise starts well today
The clouds and sun mix perfectly this morning
The oranges start to fade the closer we get
D and Simon watch as the sun rises
The morning almost about to start properly
A guy waits for a good break to head out into the ocean
The waves smash up against the shore
Eventually he made it out there
And finally it breaks through

We get back to the condo at 7:00 but I choose not to work right away because I need to relax, deserve it. I go back to bed and lay down, even if I’m not able to sleep. It’s nice to just lay there. Eventually I get up and rise for the day. But I don’t get to work for good until 9:00. I’ve put in enough this week already.

Once my 9:00 call ends I hit the road for a longer ride. In theory I have a 2 hour ride in mind but as the miles wear on my body starts to complain a bunch and I’m not sure I have it in me. But then I see indications I’m getting close to the bridge, which is the furthest we’ve ever ridden down here. I make it up the bridge, and take some pics from there.

Then I turn around and head home, for a total of just about 35 miles.

On the bridge, the bike that does the work this week
Looking out from the bridge at the land side, looking west
Your pilot, with the other side of the inlet & the ocean
Another good view of the ocean

I jump in the pool after the ride, then we have lunch. I have to make up some work after lunch so I get back to the grind. But before the 2nd beach session is done I head over and all 5 of us jump in the ocean. I’m the first to bail after I get tossed around a few times and the salt water gets the better of my eyes & throat.

We go for a walk after that, getting our beach stroll in while the weather is so nice.

From our beach today

I work more in the late afternoon. Nothing exciting

Dinner tonight is ribs, followed by fruit and chocolate fondue. Then more work until I cross off all the things I need to do.

We’re all tired, and we just relax to end the day. It’s a quiet night as the day has been a long one for everyone.

Leave a comment