OctoFlorida 7 – 192 Miles

We sleep in, hitting 8 hours for the first time in a long time. We never opened the hurricane shutters in our room, so it’s nice & dark in there. I eventually get out of bed and make some coffee & tea to start the day. We eat a quick breakfast and head out the door.

We do a walk on the beach, 3 miles in total. D jumps in the ocean before we go back to the condo.

I rented the below Trek Domane AL 2 for the week, Monday through Saturday. The cost for 6 days was $192, which is pretty cheap for a bike rental in 2023. Today I reeled off a 40 mile ride – 20 miles out then 20 miles back – on the Vanilla Ice Highway, to finish up my week at 192+ miles. Obviously, my goal for the week was to reach 192 so I could hit the dollar/mile marker. There is absolutely no significance to this goal. It just gave me something to target. The shop is closed on Sundays, which is why I had to return it today. This is just fine, because I do not want to ride another fucking inch at this point. Let me say that riding 192 road miles in this state is feat of mental strength that is hard to explain for anyone who hasn’t ridden down here. Total elevation for those 192 miles? 593 feet. And the only reason it’s so high is because I rode over 8 bridges through the course of the week. That said, it was a pretty fantastic week of bike training in some fabulous weather.

The Strava file can be found here.

Then I jumped in the pool, which was followed by lunch. After lunch we hit Walmart & Publix because we are in Florida and there is a state mandate that you need to shop at both every week.

Then we went for another beach walk, this time 2 miles.

When we were done we sat in the sand for a little and saw an osprey diving into the ocean looking for fish.

Then we went home, showered, and had dinner.

Leave a comment