OctoFlorida 6 – 5 Years of Sunrises & Rockets

Today is our 5 year wedding anniversary. We had no intention of being here to celebrate, it just worked out that way. So here we are, in Florida. celebrating 5 years together. The subject of this blog will make more sense as we move forward.

I wake up at 6:30 to see the sunrise. I feel like this is something I should do at least once, and today’s the day. D decides to join me. I make us a coffee & tea, and we walk over to the beach to see the sunrise. We also see Venus in the sky, and a really large mass of rope on the beach.

I do minimal work today. We have a company town hall meeting that runs until 10:00 and then we pretty much break for the day.

I do a road ride, 30 more miles. I’ve nailed down the safe route and I follow it again today. But when I get to the turnaround point, I see 2 bikers heading onto the main road to take the bridge to the other side. I decide to follow, take this all the way to A1A, then head up to Patrick SFB, which stands for Space Force Base.

Then I turn around and go home where I jump in the pool and we eat lunch – not at the same time.

The Strava link can be found here.

After lunch we drove towards Cape Canaveral to watch the launch of an Atlas rocket. This turned out to be Amazon’s first rocket of which they apparently purchased 9. It appears they are going to get into the satellite internet game as well.

Regardless, it was short but cool.

Then we got ice cream at Surfin’ Turtle Ice Cream Shoppe, and it was fine. We both got black raspberry because there were very few flavors to choose from.

Also wanted to get 1 more pour-over from Foxtail, which was good, not great. I think the one I had earlier in the week was better. We hung out and drank coffee & chai tea, just passing a bit more time together.

When we got back we went for a walk on the beach. At a point I took a picture of us and this is where D realized she lost her engagement ring. We backtracked our walk but it was obvious that if she dropped it on the beach, it was long gone.

Back to the condo and no sign of the ring.

D’s parents have a standing Friday night sort of cocktail hour with the condo friends where they all bring something to eat. When we got there, D told the story of her ring, and her dad follows by pointing on the pool patio and saying, “There it is!”

Indeed, there it was. We hung out for about an hour and talked to the retired people. With all of our rings.

Then we went to get sushi for our anniversary dinner at Thai Thai which was mediocre at best. We brought home leftovers but I suspect we will throw them away.

And 5 years later, we’re still full of sunrises, bike rides, rocket launches, ice cream, pour-over coffee, beach walks, and sushi dinners. I guess today pretty much touched on many of the things we like to do.

Leave a comment