OctoFlorida 4 – A Bike-Unfriendly State

The day starts with rain. The forecast says rain is going to be on & off all day. When we wake up, the rain is on. Shortly after, it’s off. And so on. This is Florida and it’s generally like that many days.

The house has a new vibe now that Oma & Opa are here. I’ve moved my base of operations to the 3rd bedroom, where I will pop in & out with the laptop as needed. Some calls here, some calls at the desk in the hallway, it just depends on the call and what I need to do.

I take a quick walk to the beach while I have my second cup of coffee. It’s a nice part of the morning, with the rain being off at this point. I know at a certain stage, you end up thinking that these pictures all start to look the same. Not sure what to say, other than: This is Florida.

I work in the morning. I work in the afternoon. Whoopy!

Then I do a road ride where I find the secret awesome road that eventually hits another bridge and turns into just another shitty road where shitty Florida drivers suck. From about mile 11 to 15, the ride blows. This is the worst 4 miles of the trip and then the next 4 miles going back are somewhat the same. While not as bad, once you get worked up it’s hard to relax.

I’ll lay it out. Some dickhead in a yellow jeep buzzed me and then honked at me. There was nobody in the other lane, so this guy was just a total asshole. I am sure he kicks his dog, if he has one.

Moving on, I got to see an awesome view of a C17 coming at me, then banking towards Patrick AFB and landing. That was amazing. The C17 is the closest thing to a Death Star that humans have made to this point, IMO.

When I got back I jumped in the pool and it was awesome.

The Strava link can be found here.

For dinner Oma made salad, pepper steak, and roasted potatoes & sweet potatoes and it was fabulous. We tried to go for a walk on the beach after but we got rained out pretty fast. Like I said at the start, on again, off again.

Leave a comment