OctoFlorida 3 – Osprey!

Yesterday I made mention that I should be having my morning coffee on the beach. I considered it this morning, but the overcast morning and high winds pushed me away from that idea. Instead, I went out back to sit by the pool to drink it. Shortly after, D joined me and I had my breakfast there as well.

I worked in the morning.

Then I went for a bike ride. I set aside 2 hours for an out & back down route A1A. I would point out that this is flat, windy, and boring, but every road ride around here is pretty much that. The wind was coming in pretty hard off the ocean and I was hoping it was a side wind and not really a tail wind. I averaged 20 mph on the way out, in almost exactly 1 hour.

About 50 minutes in this guy was sitting on top of a sign on the bridge that goes over Sebastian Inlet State Park. Ospreys are awesome. He let me get pretty close and take a solid shot there.

The return was slower, as there was a headwind to some extent. I was also getting tired and this route is mind-numbing. The last 4-5 miles was brutal headwind.

The Strava link can be found here.

Then I did some work in the afternoon.

Late afternoon we went for a walk on the beach. A big storm came in the day before we got here and made a mess of the sand. You can see the ledge in the image below. The beach was mostly quiet, and we walked a mile up & a mile back. While windy, the rain never came and it was a pretty nice afternoon.

We hit Sabai Thai for dinner, which was awesome. I got the Massaman curry with chicken and D got a noodle dish with beef and they were both fabulous. We would definitely come back here.

After dinner we shot over to the airport to pick up Oma & Opa, then back to the condo to hang out and talk a little before they called it a night and went to bed. While it’s neat to have this place to ourselves in this sort of AirBnb feel, it doesn’t feel right not having them around. So now all is right in the universe.

Leave a comment