Cali HQ October 3: Hanging Out on a Wall

I sleep until 6, which means I’m on PST already. Counting the wake up on Monday on EST, I’ve gotten up at 2 then 4 then 4 over the last 3 days.

Early day view of the stadium

Tommy and I walk to the hotel and grab some breakfast and I get a cappuccino. This is our calm before the storm, when we have a little down time to hang out.

Tommy & I walk to the office

We get to the office by 8. As far as my notes say, I “just work” and have a salad for lunch. This is what it is, the day is what it is. The real payoff is dinner.

We hit Din Tai Fung which is one of the places that usually just nails it. I’ve been to the one in Seattle twice, and this place was also excellent. Huy joins us and eventually Brent the Boat Man comes as well. We call him that because he lives on a boat, but only when he’s not living in his van in the parking lot.

This is Silicon Valley.

The meal is excellent.

The Din Tai FUN(g) times meal
The shit in that bowl is lit
Solid, good, solid foods
More neat than tasty, but good nonetheless

We walk to Smitten Ice Cream, which is hand made, on-demand, ice cream. It is fabulous.

I Scream!
On demand, yo

Then we hang out on a wall and talk. It’s that kind of night.

Tommy, Huy, and Brent the Boat Man

Leave a comment