Cali HQ October 2: Hindsight Signs

I’m up at 3:45, and I’ve written in my notes that it’s a hard bed on my leg. I can only infer that this is 1 of the numerous bike injuries I have sustained in the past 12 months. I guess I woke up hurting. Funny enough, as I write this in June 2020 I am nursing another bike-related injury. So it goes.

I make my first pass of breakfast in this miserable hole of an Airbnb, then I work. I read a little of Slaughterhouse 5, and then work some more.

Today’s blog post should be about this Airbnb but I just don’t care enough to recap it. It is what it is and you win some and lose some. This was a loss.

I walk to the office, still in the dark.

It be dark, captain

The day begins like this, and is littered with this on & off. I do not know what else happened on this day of work, if anything.

Double barrel delivery system

I do know that Tommy showed up at some point today, and we went outside to sit, maybe to have lunch or something. I did take this picture and it is a damn fine day at that.

A lovely day!

Dinner is Nutrition Restaurant, which we end up with maybe 6 of us. Tommy and I do the ordering and we get far too much food. It’s one of those rundown, dirty Chinese places. So you know the food is legit. And it was legit.

Nutrition Restaurant Take 1
Nutrition Restaurant Take 2
Nutrition Restaurant Take 3

Towards the end of the meal, my boss gets up and decides to fly to San Diego because one of our coworkers is doing a demo there. There’s no reason for him to go. He just wants to. In the 15 total days I spent in Santa Clara while I was employed there, I think he spent 3 in the office with us. This is why I named this blog post Hindsight Signs. There’s a lot there when you look back on it.

I mean, we knew it at the time already, but we thought it was isolated to an individual. We would later realize it was a systemic thing.

Tommy and I then went to Salt & Straw for dessert. I do not remember what I got but I’ve had their ice cream before, in Seattle I think, and it was great. I recommend it.

The line at Salt & Straw was worth it

Then Tommy got to experience the awe that was the Airbnb. No matter how much I warned him, it still managed to underwhelm him. Good times. We’ll always have those memories!

Leave a comment