Seattle 6: ET Go Home

The hotel’s parting shot.

I woke up by 2:15 am today, which is early even for EST. I laid there briefly, thinking about trying to go back to sleep. But in the end I decided it made no sense to go back to bed only to fall into a deep sleep and not be able to get up 45 minutes later. So I showered & packed, then made my way to the airport by 3:30 am and was met with an absolute sea of humanity. I’ve done this 3 times now, and every time it’s the same. The TSA is totally unprepared for the morning onslaught of people at SEA-TAC. After 40 minutes the line must have been 2000 people long, and I’m not exaggerating, even a little bit. They had no choice but to fast track it, which means they eventually opened up the flood gates after they brought out the dog. I always love when I see the dogs. It means they’re going to Sniff & Send. No need to take all the crap out. My coffee beans didn’t even get flagged.

Grabbed breakfast and coffee, then watched the fight get to delayed from 6:00 to 6:30 to 7:00 to 8:00. Then they miraculously pulled it back to 7:00 and we were in the air by 7:15, with an expected landing around 3:00 pm. I’ll take it.

I will sporadically number the things I did today.

1. Watched S1E9 of Patriot.
2. Watched Blindspotting. I am not sure where I read about this but this is an excellent movie. You should watch it.
3. Started this blog post.
4. I did a little work on the Issue Backlog, which is actual work.
5. Watched the end of Patriot Season 1 (Episode 10). Not the best episode but the ending is intriguing. 

The pilot said the end of the flight was supposed to be rough, but after a little bumpiness I looked out the window and the ground was 20 feet below. All in all a good flight. Got an Uber and picked up Julia at her mother’s house, then went back to the house briefly.

6. Submitted my expense report. Yeah I’m that guy.
7. Went to the Chinese market with Julia to get curry & 15 pounds of rice.
8. Went to TJ Maxx with Julia to shop for her mom and D’s dad for Xmas.
9. Dropped Julia off at swim. Her mother is picking her up.

Got home and D was back. We hung out, talked, packed, had dinner, and chilled out for a bit before the big drive tomorrow. Gonna drop this now because I’m done for the day. The next 10 days will be all over the place. 

Jake will never see this. But it’s priceless.

Leave a comment