Seattle 5: Seattle Day Something-or-Other

Rinse & repeat of the morning, which also includes the fact it’s raining yet again. I actually woke up earlier than 4:00 am today. Spent 90 minutes on the bike, which brings us down to 3:42 left on the year to get to 500 hours. Eggs & oatmeal for breakfast. The eggs here are just so good. Or maybe the biking makes me crave salty eggs.

I like to place-name people (Austin Sean, e.g.) because it helps the narrative. I’ve found that D has no way to keep these people straight and I talk about them all the time. I also tend to name the work projects by location name (Delaware, St. Louis, etc), but this facility name has the location in it. So it’s easy to figure out where Seattle Children’s is located, or Boston Children’s, or Colorado Children’s . Not all of them are like this – SSM, Allina, Christiana, Honor, even Cleveland Clinic which is in…you guessed it: Florida. The people I work with don’t know my nickname as Norm, other than Tommy Chicago, so it would be Joe here – perhaps they call me Jersey Joe. Since I’m the NY/NJ guy they probably refer to me as That Asshole from Jersey, or Jersey Jerk-off. While we’re here, we being you and I, I watched Patriot s1e7 today, which is really when it came into its own as a really great show. The scene when he’s sitting in that massive cement pipe and people keep coming at him randomly and talking to him? Goddamn that is excellent. I liked the show before today but it jumped up a notch.

This is espresso. 

While it may look like beer, this is espresso.

After the morning routine I took a walk to Slate Coffee Roasters and got a double espresso (above) and a pour-over. I have to say that this was the best pour-over I’ve ever had in all of my travels. The double espresso was very good, but the pour-over was off the hook. I bought a bag of the beans they used because I always need more coffee beans and enjoy getting pulled out of the security line at airports. But this bean was so legit I had to buy some. If you’re nice to me, you can come over and I’ll make you a cup.

I also checked-in for my 6:00 am flight for the next day. As the day wore on the weather and flight delays started to get worse. United sent an email about Newark being bad tomorrow, and offering to switch up my flight free of charge. At some point in the day, the plane I would be taking tomorrow morning was on the way here from EWR. So I’ll wake up with the plane on the ground at SEA-TAC, which is the first step. We’ll see how it goes from there. I don’t worry too much about it because it’s not something I can control. I’m more concerned that the pilot isn’t out getting shit-faced right now.

Workshop was an exercise in mopping up. I did other work that’s been avalanching and paid little attention on this session. They randomly asked me questions on occasion which amounts to mostly shit they forgot over the course of the last 3 days. Alternately, when someone says something errant, I try to chime in. Eventually we got out of there and went to get lunch at the same place we had dinner the night before, Din Tai Fung. By the time we ate it was 1:30 pm. I effectively finished lunch at 5 pm EST. This meal was just Sean Austin, Glenn Pittsburgh, and Jersey Jerk-off. Meggan Austin went to the airport only to find her flight was delayed several hours.

Another round at Din Tai Fun, it was that good.

Went back to the hotel, wrapped up s1e8 of Patriot which again, is excellent. The rochambeau scene is bordering on pure genius. Holy shit.

Did laundry. Went to get ice cream at Sweet Alchemy. Packed. Called the family. Relaxed. Did my Cybersecurity training for work. Then compliance training. Then hit submit on this and called it a night. Today was almost a total and complete repeat of the day before. The novelty, it has worn off. Time to roll out of here and head on home.

Leave a comment