Seattle 2: Wake up in Settle, far too early

I’ve started using the Sleep Cycle app again, so I can tell you I was in bed from 12:47 am to 4:20 am, PST. It also tells me when I started waking up, which was around 3:00 am, rising until I was pretty much awake at 3:30 am, right in-line with 6:30 am at home. I spent just 3 hours and 32 minutes in bed, but I was up for a while before I called it and decided to wake up and knock out the hotel gym part of my day. Got to the gym by 4:45 am, rode London for an hour while I watched s1e2 and the start of s1e3 of Patriot, then showered up and made it to breakfast by 6:15 am only to find out it isn’t open until 6:30 am. I told the 3 people I’m here with that I might make it, or might not. In the end I was the first one downstairs.

I’m going to try to keep EST hours during this trip, if at all possible.

Here we are for the week, where they brand their cars.

After breakfast, Pittsburgh Glenn drove us to the workshop site, which is technically Seattle, but might as well but 200 miles north, well into Canada. We’re not remotely downtown, and the building we’re sits in the middle of nowhere. This is also the first time I’ve been on a work trip where the client didn’t provide us with anything. No breakfast, no snacks, no coffee, no lunch, nothing. Weak. At least there was a small deli in the basement, where I got a soup and salad for lunch. Breakfast was hotel oatmeal, by the way. My general approach is to eat oatmeal then salad as my first 2 meals of the day, then find something good for dinner. This is how I try to stay partially healthy on these work trips.

Just in case you were wondering.

Dinner is a Taiwanese place called Henry’s Taiwan Kitchen, 3 blocks south of the hotel. I fully expected to go it alone but Pittsburgh Glenn was on board and went with me. I’ll give him credit that he said he was up for anything, and he came along and enjoyed the food. Austin Sean and Austin Meggan went to the hotel-attached McWhatever. I refuse to eat Americana unless I have to. In Seattle, you don’t have to.

Taiwanese beef noodle soup. Not 100% right but pretty good, all-in-all.

On the way back to the hotel I stopped at the Ugly Mug Cafe and got an amazing espresso. Legit good. It was a great way to end the dinner walk. By the way, it was pissing rain more or less all day. As Sean (our Sean here in NJ, not my coworker) texted me, there is definitely a theme here.

As much as I don’t want to be here, and feel that this is partial waste of my time, my presence is useful, since I know far more of the product than the guy who will be running the workshop, which is to be expected since I have far more experience in the tool than he does. I ended up having to help a few times today, since this is his first real implementation workshop. On that note, there’s a non-zero chance I’ll need to go to Arizona over the winter which doesn’t sound like the worst idea ever.

I’m not turning this trip into much more than what today turned out to be. We got out of the workshop at 4:20 pm, where it was almost dark and pissing rain. Apparently the week is going to be like this every day. This, it’s not much of an outdoor trip for me. I’m really going to benefit from just laying low and trying to catch up on some sleep. On that note, going to button this one up and get ready for bed.

Leave a comment