Seattle 1: Off to Seattle

Sunday, late afternoon. As the day wore on, I realized my window to ride was too small so I tied up packing for the trip, showered, then got ready to go. Just about then, my phone popped up a message that the flight would be delayed. I looked into it, and the plane was still on the runway in Vegas, which meant it was going to be a while. I then decided to hop on the trainer for a quick hour, which was a good thing. It made me feel a little fresher. I’ve been dealing with this nagging cold all day and spinning a little helped that.

Flight was bumped to 8:20 pm which gets me into Seattle around 11:00 pm West Coast time, which gets me to bed at midnight best case scenario, which is 3:00 am our time. This is going to be one damn long night. Grabbed a salad & chocolate for dinner.

Dinner is a salad and a bar of dark chocolate tonight.

I’m not sure how I’m going to play this week ahead yet. After today I stand 10 hours short of 500 on the year, so I may consider trying to bury myself in the hotel gym to get that out of the way. This stupid workshop is 8-5 every day, Monday through Thursday. I’ll need to work around that. I’m in the University District this time, so I won’t be in the amazing coffee spot I was in last time I was here. I’m sure there will be plenty of coffee no matter where I am. Ideally, I would knock out a ride before the workshop, then go to work, grab a quick dinner, then call it a day and try to stay on EST as much as possible. I’ll need to wake up at Stupid O’clock on Friday morning to catch an early flight. I’d like to keep an early schedule all except for the fact I am wiping my internal time zone settings tonight.

Staring down the barrel of a ~6 hour flight. Here is how I burned up that time:

1. Finished 1 NYTimes Magazine. I took 6 with me, and hope to read 1 every day. It hasn’t been as good these days.
2. Tied up some work things while I did other crap. Since they are paying for the Internet it’s only fair.
3. Watched Argo on the United feed. Argo fuck yourself. Good movie. 
4. Watched Patriot s1e1, as per the recommendation by Jeremy. I actually downloaded both seasons to my phone. I think Jeremy said, “It’s not what you think.” After 6 minutes, I was like yeah, ok it’s not what I would have expected. After 1 episode, I like it. Look forward to more.
5. Read a chapter of A Mango-Shaped Space, which is a book the kids read at school. 
6. Added the story below.
7. Finished up writing the blog. Hit submit.
8. Unconfirmed presumption at the time of this writing: landed in Seattle and took Uber to hotel.

Ok, a Story

I told D this story tonight while we were chatting on Hangouts. One time I flew back from Taiwan by myself. Direct flight, 14 hours. I decided to get on the plane and drink cheap Taiwanese beer. They had video games on the plane then, and there was one game I was pretty good at, but it was extremely long to beat. Well, I start this game, and play for hours while drinking. After 6 hours, this flight is goddamn awesome. I am still playing the game. You know, ok right now, you know where this is going. I keep going with this process and the awesome fades to ok fades to not-so-good fades to WTF am I doing? We are 12 hours in and I am still, yes still, playing the same single game. I am getting closer and closer to finishing it, but goddamn I feel miserable. After 13 hours of this fucking game, I am close to beating it but I have now been up for 24 hours straight and I am a waste and feel like holy hell and I screw up and lose. At this point I am probably already hungover. For the last hour of the flight I listen to Wilco’s Yankee Hotel Foxtrot and sleep lightly. In all, that was a completely miserable way to approach a 14 hour flight. The next 2 days were awful.

Never do that.

Leave a comment