Seattle 3: Seattle Workshop Day 2 (Glorious Things)

Last night I was asleep by 8:30 pm. It was glorious. Alarm got me up at 4:00 am again, but I was far more groggy this morning versus yesterday morning. I suppose this means I’m catching up on some much-needed sleep, which is a good thing. Yesterday was a struggle, to be sure, but I got to the finish line. The rest of the week should be easier. By 4:30 am I was on the gym bike and I cranked out 90 minutes before the day started. I was tempted to do 120 but if I went long I was afraid the next 2 days would be impossible. The fact I’m able to knock out 90 minutes on a shitty gym bike speaks to how useful Zwift is in motivating me. Watched Patriot again today, finished s1e3, watched s1e4, then started s1e5. I’ll get through this whole first season on this trip.

Went downstairs and destroyed breakfast at 6:30 am. I ate oatmeal and also had some eggs with cheese mixed in. I earned it today. It was glorious.

Day 2 of the workshop. There’s nothing interesting to talk about here. We got out early, just after 3:00 pm. Again, I will use this word: Glorious. Now with extra time on our hands, the question was: what to do? I’m not one to willingly hang out with my coworkers typically, my boss being 1 of the few exceptions to this rule. But I had time and everyone really wanted to go to Pike Place Market, so I said fine, let’s go.

No trip to Seattle would be complete without a trip to Pike Place Market

Walked around a bit and grabbed a cup of chowder from Pike Place Chowder. It was $8 a cup and worth every penny of this. We had come here last year with the kids but the line was so long we skipped it. Now I understand why. Glorious. Probably the best version of that word I will use today. Wow, such good. Gloriously good, in fact.

This Pike Place Chowder is almost worth flying to Seattle for

We asked where to get a good seafood dinner and one of the fruit vendors said Steelhead Diner. I got the Kasu Marinated Oregon Black Cod. It was goddamn delicious. Again: Glorious. 

The Cod at Steelhead Diner was out of sight, just amazing

Got back to the hotel and Austin Sean asked if I wanted to run to the coffee shop and I was all like, um…yeah. So in the end it was closed at 6:00 pm which is bullshit, but we stumbled upon Sweet Alchemy. It was a non-standard, on-premise made ice cream shop. I got the dutch chocolate with peanuts. Can you guess? Yeah, glorious again.

Sweet Alchemy delivers a glorious ending to the day

Today was not the best day of my life. But there were several parts of it that were perfectly fine. I’ve had worse Tuesdays. Now I will go to bed and pretty much repeat it again tomorrow, but with different pictures.

Leave a comment