Lancaster 1: Volleyball Day 1

We start this trip the Saturday evening before. Zac’s teammate JP is dropped off, and we’re off to Pennsylvania to drop the dog off. Along with the boys, Julia joins D and I for this trip. We planned to have dinner at my mom’s but with 3 of the 5 of us sick, we decide to stop real quick and leave Bear, and not risk giving them our colds.

We get to Lancaster, check-in, then get a quick dinner at House of Pizza. It is passable at best.

I wake up the next day, Sunday, still sick. The worst of the cold is over but it still lingers, and sucks. D drops the boys off for their early pre-game meetup, and I shower up then walk to Passenger Coffee and get some good stuff. This is an excellent location and a real gem in Lancaster.

Unfortunately the Central Market is not open today.

D picks us up and we watch 5 hours of volleyball. They barely lose the first, and easily win the next 2. On the day they are 2-1 and are playing pretty well.

We stop at Primanti Brothers for lunch. D doesn’t like this place too much but Zac and I do. I use his hunger to justify my enjoyment of this sandwich shop. Through all the years, the prices here haven’t really gone up that much. The sandwiches may have gotten smaller but is that a bad thing in America? I think not.

Back to the hotel we walk on the treadmills for an hour then hop in the freezing cold pool.

Dinner is at Plaza Azteca. It is a pretty forgettable Mexican place. The kinds of food that most Americans eat on the regular is puzzling to me. As I get older, the more of this shit I eat, the more I feel like it will kill you faster than smoking & drinking. While the meal in itself is ok, just the gluttony of the collective food orgy is frightening.

Conversation with the other parents is ok. I won’t be inviting any of them to our Xmas party next year.

Leave a comment