Thanksgiving Florida 1 – Happy Birthday Me

For Thanksgiving this year we were given an opportunity to join some friends at their timeshare in Florida. We thought about it for a minute, then said that yes, we would love to go. Due to the cost of travel this time of year, we decided to go a day early and leave a day late. This is a bonus for the kids who get 2 extra days off school.

The journey starts on the 21st, the day before. We have 4 basic legs of the trip to get there.

  1. Drive to my parents house for dinner. This is normally easy enough but the rainy weather made it harder than it needed to be. We had a great birthday meal there, but it was too short and we were pressed against the clock to get to the airport
  2. Drive to ABE to get the plane. An extension of the poor weather driving, but much shorter.
  3. Fly from Allentown to Sanford. Sit back and relax but as we all know, planes are uncomfortable.
  4. Uber from Sanford to Orange Lake, where Kirt met us just before 1am with our keys.

In all, everything went about as well as it could. We just got to bed late which is not the end of the world.

The next day I wake up and it’s my birthday. Go me! Now another year older. If I had a playing card for every year around the sun I would now have a full deck.

I start the day with coffee, which I brought with me. Funny anecdote. When I went through TSA my bag got pulled and the agent immediately asked if it was coffee. I said yes, then warned him to be careful with the bag because it was tightly packed with grounds and that it might explode all over. He then said in a deadpan response, “Maybe not the best word to use in an airport.”

Anyway, starting the day like this is always good.

After 9:00 Kirt picked me up to bring me to Hertz and I got the car in literally 1 minute. The guy did not try to upsell anything. Here’s your car, have a great day. On the way back I hit the Publix and spent $200 on groceries.

After breakfast I walked to the pool with Julia & Zac. Then Simon & D joined us later. We hung out with Kirt & the family but the day was pretty overcast & it rained on & off all day. We did enjoy the hot tub for a bit.

But it was fine. Better than work.

Back to the condo to shower up then we went to dinner in the Disney Springs area. We went to Jaleo for our meal and it was fabulous. Absolutely excellent tapas meal.

After dinner we walked around the people place of Disney Springs which is a thousand ways to spend money on stuff. It was a nice night out and it was an enjoyable evening just hanging out and talking. We’re in a rare spot right now where we can take the kids with us on vacation and they enjoy just hanging out and talking.

Back to the condo and we call it a night there.

Leave a comment