Utah 23-3: Deer Valley Avalanche Cannons

The Plan

After discussing it a bit last night & this morning, we decided to go to Deer Valley today. The deliberation on this was because they don’t allow snowboards, which means Mark can’t go there. With snow coming in, it seemed to be the best option due to it being more groomed than the other places.

And breakfast. And dinner.

The Drive

Since Alex & Mark were going to another resort, we put all 4 of us plus the Utah clan into the truck, which meant that 7 of us managed to pile into 2 rows, plus all the junk in the back.

The drive was route 80 east, and Utah was like a tour guide telling us all about his time living here.

Deer Valley

This would rank as one of the best ski days I have ever had, for what that’s worth. Today was my 51st day skiing ever, and it was a good one. There was snow coming down all day which made for lots and lots and lots of snow. I even got to ski fresh powder that nobody had skied before. A first for me.

The top of the hill started to get a little cloudy, and my vertigo started tripping again which sucked. But a combination of things helped alleviate that. As I sit here and write this at 5:30 pm, I still feel a little light-headed. I think there may be some altitude sickness going on here but who knows.

After I ate lunch, I felt a bit bigger. Cough drops also seem to help.

Anyway, it was a great day. We skied the shit out of the place, hitting 10 different lifts. In total, we almost did 42 miles which is my biggest day ever.

On and we got to hear the avalanche cannons going off!

The Strava link can be found here.

Conclusion

After the ski day we drove through Utah’s old neighborhood and saw his old house. Then we stopped at the store and bought more food.

Then we had soft tacos for dinner.

Day 2 was a great day on the hill, but damn I am tired. Unfortunately there is not much more to say about the day. We lounged around the house eating and talking after that. A solid day.

Leave a comment