Zac’s Highland Birthday 3

Today, the last day of of the 3 day bike trip, is a bit of rinse & repeat of the previous day. This includes the rain, which is forecast to start at 1:00. I have no note of what we had for breakfast so I imagine we ate at the AirBnb. Probably just toast.

We are on the lift by 9:10. We do 2 runs then take a break. Pete is pretty tired from the day before. I’m also on day 3, so I’m good to space the day out.

By 10:15 the park is packed. The lines mean that the round trip is almost half an hour, which is long. As the morning goes on, I’m also incredibly tired.

We eat lunch early to get a break just as the mist starts on the day. I get a taco salad. After lunch I hit the XC trails by myself for just under an hour. They’re ok. Something to break the day up but nothing amazing.

Out of the XC trails I hit the lift solo but at this point I’m now cold. I do 1 last run of Cat’s Paw. It’s a good run, but some little kid ate shit pretty hard on the run. I ride it clean but call it a day by 2:00. Everything is just too wet now.

I talk to Eric, some local. I grab a coffee, and hang out by the fire to stay warm.

Pete and I sit at the bar and BS with some local for a bit. By 3:00 the kids are inside, also freezing cold. The weather is far from awesome today.

At this point we pack it in. The Strava link can be found here.

We head back to the house and grab a shower. Given the weather this is awesome.

We run out and grab some pizzas for dinner. Then we hang out at the house and just BS the rest of the night away.

With that, we wrap up Zac’s 3-day birthday weekend. The next day we would just wake up and hit the road back to NJ. It was a good weekend, though at this age I think 3 straight days of this is a bit too much for me. Still, some good stuff in there all-in-all.

Leave a comment