Zac’s Highland Birthday 2

Day 2, or the second full day. I sleep 7 hours which at this point in life is as good as it gets. When we wake up it’s raining out, and 39 degrees. Overall it’s a pretty miserable morning no matter which way you slice it. Generally I say that this is the worst possible weather, 30s and raining is worse than snow for riding.

We get ready, but given the conditions out the window we take our time. We hit the same market for breakfast sandwiches but today we just get them on the drive there. Again, I don’t remember it at all but it was good enough to go back after yesterday so I guess it was alright.

It rains on the drive. When we get there at 9:45 Pete & Beck, our house mates for the next 2 nights, are there. Pete is a coach on the NICA team we’re all part of, and Beck is his son, the same age as Zac.

We already have our waiver stuff taken care of so we do 1 run then they join us for the day.

It is cold – not going to lie. We do a few runs then go into the lodge to warm up. The rain continues.

We get back out on the hill and the boys take off, so Pete and I do some runs together. He asks for some pointers and I try and teach him a little. I have been riding more years than he has but I don’t really know a lot about how to teach this aspect. Training? Sure. NICA basic skills? Also sure. Downhill technique? Less sure. I do my best.

We stop for lunch and share a table with some random mom who has a son on the hill. We head back out for more.

I have noted that the trail Faux Pine is a bit much. Notes to my future self.

Zac crashes, which happens at these things. Then Pete has a mechanical and quits. After a few runs by myself he comes back to join me. I guess it is a mixed bag of a day with the weather.

We do a few of the black diamond technical runs which Pete likes more than the flow/feature stuff.

At the end we ride with the boys on Hellion and take pics. You can see the slew in the photo dump at the end of this post.

The Strava link can be found here.

We go back the same place for dinner, Onions Pub, but we sit down for this round. We’re in that weird stage where you have to wear your mask to the table then you can take it off. In hindsight this was literally the dumbest stage in the whole Covid thing.

We have a good meal, talking amongst each other.

After dinner we head back to the house and hang out for the night.

Leave a comment