MAXmas Part 2 – Icy Vietnam

Despite the fact that it’s a balmy 30° when I wake up, I start the day with a bike ride in the Vietnam trail system just around the corner from the hotel. Of course it goes without saying that I had a delicious cup of coffee to start the day. I would need to pause at this point and ask the question, if you say that it goes without question and then say it anyway does that really mean it goes without question?

The morning is cold but not that bad. Sometimes you forget that 30° in the woods is no big deal. I certainly do not go fast on this ride and that is by design. Riding in the cold brings different challenges to the table. Riding in the cold after it has rained 2 inches brings even more challenges to the table. One of the things you definitely do not want to do is fall in a stream Crossing.

Even though I know it’s not a good thing to do I still manage to put both feet down in the water. At this point I would change my opinion on what it feels like to ride when it’s 30° out. However it sure makes a hot shower at the end of the ride feel amazing.

The Strava link can be found here.

After I shower I make another cup of coffee and take two early morning calls. I then meet Brian for breakfast and we hang out a little bit just shooting the shit. I head back to the room for a few more calls and then we all meet in the lobby of the hotel. At this point Helen has joined us. We mostly just hang out and decide to go around the corner to get lunch at Jersey Mike’s.

We then drive to TopGolf but there is a three hour wait. While I am not a golfer by any means I am intrigued by what this venue has to offer. That said, I am not intrigued enough to wait three hours. So we leave and go back to the hotel.

We hang out at the hotel for a bit and are shortly joined by Ted. We are now four people out of the five that were originally supposed to be here. Chris from Minnesota came down with a case of Covid and did not make the trip out. We just shoot the shit some more and eventually head out for dinner.

We eat at PJ’s Smoke N Grill and it is as good as I remember. I do not think that you should eat this kind of food every day or even every week for that matter. But once every year or so is good. It is also better to eat a meal like this after you have exercised for 2 to 4 hours. I did an hour and a half this morning but at this point it’s almost 12 hours ago. But here we are.

Then we hang out some more after dinner and head back to the hotel around nine. And that is a wrap on day two.

Leave a comment