Canadian Summer 5 – I Think It’s the Ragweed

The Plan

Day 5 and we still have no plan. The weather is iffy again so we’re going to wake up and see what happens.

Looks like a nice day when we get up.

Bike Ride

We head out to the Tremblant trails again and hit the downhill run section we missed earlier in the week. The conditions are less than ideal, and the trails are frankly completely confused. I really don’t know what they’re trying to do here. They’ve put a lot of effort into this area but man, it is really lacking an identity.

Some of the hits are pretty big, and some of the trails have mandatory gaps that are just pretty high-level, like the below:

Most of that looks good but some of it isn’t family-friendly. Other trails have massive table tops that drop down the hill on the back side. If you spent the day sessioning this stuff, I think you’d get the hang of it. But as a single pass it’s not great.

The conditions weren’t great either. It’s rained so much that there was a lot of mud on the hill, which is saying something.

The blue runs were raw and offer almost nothing for the early-stage rider to practice on. Again, I think it lacks a lot of proper identity here and you’re not going to get a lot of repeat customers because the things were built so specifically only a handful of people will ride them.

To make it worse, we were all feeling like crap. D, Zac, and Simon went rafting yesterday but I think I am being hammered by either ragweed or mold or both. I was so winded again today and it’s something I have been noticing up here. I have been winded a few times walking up the steps. So I’m pretty sure it’s allergies, and ragweed in August up here is a thing.

It also generally makes me feel unmotivated to do much. No matter what it is, it sucks.

So when I went home I took a bevy of meds to try and combat this.

The Strava link can be found here.

Lunch & Hot Tub

When we got back we were the only 4 who had not eaten so we just cannibalized the kitchen for food. We filled up then all hopped into the hot tub to relax for a bit.

Quick shower then lined up for the afternoon.

Coffee & Gas

D & Julia joined me at 83 Nord, which is another coffee place I found. This has the best espresso I have found in the town up to now. It seems to have the potential to have pour over one day, but right now it’s not that kind of place. It seems that nothing up here is that kind of place, sadly.

The shop is a cool market with coffee & some foods. Cool vibe, good location.

I dropped the girls off then went to fill up our tank and 2 of the gas tanks in the garage. I bought 99 liters of gas and spent like $160 Canadian at the gas station, which is probably the most I have ever spent on gas in my life.

Dinner

12 people tonight, we have paella, without clams. The meal is good, as always.

We top it off with a strawberry short cake which is for Theo as we are celebrating his 24th birthday, which is in 8 days.

We clean up then Renee, Philippe, and Theo leave which leaves 9 people here.

The Meteors

Went out back with Bear to throw the ball, and the girls (Julia & Alicia) were setting up chairs to watch the meteors tonight.

Before this, I tried my best to tire the dog out with the ball.

As the for meteors, we saw maybe 6-10 but nothing like the 75-100 per hour that they say can happen. Cool for sure, in any event.

Tomorrow

Tomorrow we’ll drive home, which is the last day of the trip. I am likely not going to post about packing & driving. We’ll see ya’ next time (which won’t be too long).

Leave a comment