Canadian Summer 3 – Morning Sauntering & Afternoon Golf

The Day, A Plan

There’s not much to plan. It’s another watch-the-weather day and we wake up and it seems fine. So we’ll do something outside, as it comes.

Walking the Boundary

I decide I am going to take Bear on a walk of the ATV loop and D decides to join. Last summer I spent a lot of time cleaning it up, and since then only 2-3 trees have fallen and it could easily be made passable. Currently, the ATV doesn’t work, which renders the effort somewhat pointless. I may go out with a hand saw tomorrow and take out the trees. Or I might not.

Bear likes it. It’s an adventure. He likes adventure.

Revitalizing the Sidewalk

When we get back I start in on the sidewalk in front of the house. They just asked that we weed whack it a little closer, which I do. I wish I took a before pic because it is truly night & day. After I weed whack, which you can see below, I break out the power washer and start cleaning up the dirt. It becomes quickly apparent that the stones go much wider than we thought, and we end up breaking out all sorts of digging tools to clear off the 1-3″ of dirt & weeds that have grown over the slate.

Finished product looks quite impressive, I’ll say. That’s 15 years of growth taken care of in a few hours.

Then D & Simon was the windows with the power washer.

Mini Put

We head out to play miniature golf, also known as mini putt up here. Zac wins, I am second, D is 3rd, and Simon & Julia fight for the bottom spot.

We get ice cream after the game then head back for dinner.

Dinner & Close Out

Dinner is the fettuccini seafood thing I like, but it’s not as good as in the past. I think there’s less cheese than normal and it’s not as rich.

Dessert is cooked peaches, ice cream, and chocolate sauce.

We close out the night booking a flight to Florida for the first week in October, and enjoying the evening. It’s a gorgeous one.

Leave a comment