October Anniversary 22-5: Gurney Lane

Setup

Today’s plan is to be up & out of the condo by 10:00, which is our check-out time. We will then drive to Queensbury to ride Gurney Lane, a park which we haven’o’t been to in 2 years. Ideally I would stop in Rutland for coffee, but neither Killington nor Rutland has coffee that’s worth going out of the way for. After Gurney we will check out a different coffee place then hit the road and make our way home.

The morning is quiet as D sleeps in, and I drink coffee while I do a little work.

Leaving Killington

Packing up and leaving a Vermont stay is never an easy thing to do. As much as we’re usually ready to be home after these trips, I never like driving away. The good thing is, every time we do it, we know we’ll be back before too long. Will that be a month or 3? Who knows. The sky is bright and the colors are still awesome as we drive west and out of the state.

Gurney Lane

It turns out that we ride Gurney every 2 years. 2016, 2018, 2020, and now 2022. It’s a fun place, but it’s about right that every other year is fine. You get about an hour out of this place and beyond that, it’s a bit of a stretch. I’m sure if you lived local you’d have it all set for both directions all trails to get 2 hours out of it. But that’s too much effort on a travel day. The park is fun as always and gets us 5 parks in 5 days, which was part of the target this weekend.

The Strava file can be found here.

Kru Coffee

Solid stop in Sarasota, which I found after a lot of searching with my supercollider. It’s not easy digging these places out of the woodwork but I was able to find a solid pour over coffee (Columbian) that was well-worth it. We sat inside for a bit but probably both wanted to get back on the road and have the drive over.

The Drive Home & Recap

Back home by 5 to wrap up the trip, and it was another good trip in the books. We didn’t ride this one out until our eyeballs bled. But we got 5 good parks in 5 good days. I enjoyed them all but I was especially happy to get a new system in the books in that Woodstock area. I managed to nail down 5 great coffee stops in 5 days, which is a recored for me. I think the biking & coffee game were on point, and of course the food is always good.

Doing these trips with Alex & Mark is always easy, as they’re always open to do whatever. They like bikes, coffee, food, and Vermont. Pretty easy combination to fit in with. I am sure we’ll be off on another adventure with them before too long.

Leave a comment