Canadian Summer ’22-2: Yardwork

Premise

Undetermined. The weather app says rain, but maybe not, but maybe. But later for sure. Basically, don’t make any big plans today because if you do, I’ll rain on you. But tonight I’m going to rain for sure, a bunch…probably. Tomorrow will rain. But today? Elmo Shrug, because I don’t know.

So who really knows.

Yardwork

One of the things I immediately noticed when we got here yesterday was the lawn was really long, and the weeds were out of control. I decreed I was going to mow this stuff and do the weed whacking by the end of the week. Given the weather, I decided to do it today. I started on the riding mower, then D picked that up for a bit, while I took on the weed whacking. It was a hot day, and a bunch of work, but it felt good to help Oma & Opa get the house back to looking trim again.

Meanwhile, the kids rode around on the ATV while we did this, giving their mother additional anxiety in the process.

Later in the morning, we tried to take the dog for a walk but the black flies were atrocious again. We did a short walk while the kids went to the river to swim.

Lunch

Lunch, like breakfast, is a choose-your-own-adventure affair. Various combinations of bread, cheese, meat, and assorted other things you can put in your mouth that taste good. There’s generally nothing notable about the process but I guess for the people reading for the first time, I’ll mention it. Lunch is eaten together. Breakfast, on the other hand, is a wake-and-eat when you get there. Sometimes with others, sometimes solo.

Opa’s sister Katie stopped by after lunch and eventually they played cards.

Afternoon Delights

Mid afternoon I took Julia out for a drive, heading into the old Tremblant, trying a new coffee shop called OcafĂ© – Vieux Tremblant. I picked it randomly because I feel like there should be a coffee shop around here. But this was just another, “Good enough,” kind of place. I got a double espresso and Julia got an iced latte. We walked around a bit but it started to rain and we turned around and went back to the car.

After a quick stop at the Metro for some drinks, we went back to the house to hang out. The heat continues to be odious so I pretty much stopped being outside and stayed indoors. I did some laundry because I am out of clothes already on day 2, which is somewhat of a result of the yard work today.

The temps did drop later in the afternoon and I went out to finish up the weed whacking because it was bugging me that I had 2 minutes left to finish around the house.

Dinner

We’re in charge tonight, which is all well & good by me. This means that D cooks dinner and I’ll clean up later. But this is more or less the way it goes every night here. She helps with the cooking and I help clean.

The meal turns out to be:

  • Salad, but more than yesterday
  • Asparagas
  • Rice, made by Oma
  • Salmon, baked in the oven
  • Cheesecake, compliments of Oli & Julia

It was fabulous!

The evening is a quiet one. We hang out in the living room talking to Adri & Olli.

Summary

Day 2, first full day on the ground, is perfectly fine. Does it mean I’m getting old that I like doing the yard work like this? I know it’s weird but it seemed like the overgrowth was just making the place a little run down. So it felt the right thing do was to knock it out. Now it’s looking a lot better, and we don’t need to worry about it this week.

Tomorrow I guess maybe the rain will come. Or not.

Leave a comment