Asheville ’22-4: Pocahontas

The day is going to be filled with rain so we decide to pack up and hit the road early. No rides around here and it is a work day for these guys. So we’re going to try to outrun the rain and make some time up in order to head home. We head to Durham, opting for the coastal route home.

We went to Namu in Durham for lunch & coffee, which I had been to 2 different times in previous travels when I did work for Duke. The meal is good.

We drive to Richmond and hit Pocahontas State Park, which is 1 of the most popular places in all of Virginia. Steve & Joy had been here before and they seem to have had mixed reviews on it. We liked it. Some bike-specific, directional trails that were fun. You could certainly spend a lot of time here but I will admit that the variety was lacking. But I did like it, really.

I remember talking to 2 guys, 1 local plus his friend from the west coast, who were asking about Harrisonburg. We gave them our opinion then continued on.

The Strava link can be found here.

After the ride we drove to Reston for a ramen dinner at another place I had been to a few times, Umai. I love the ramen there and had been for work, then once with Julia, now once with D. Nobody liked it as much as I do. Perhaps I set expectations too high?

Rain is in the forecast so we decide not to stay, and we drive all the way home. Of course, the turnpike has traffic even at midnight. We get home at 1:00. Late, but we made it.

Leave a comment