Vegas SKO Day 3: SKO Begins, and Mystere Appears

Still living on EST in a sense, I wake up at 5:15am even though my body is tired and I could certainly use some more sleep. I don’t really want to exercise but I do. One of the tenants of surviving these trips is making sure I get some exercise in. In the end it wasn’t bad. Another hour in the books.

As mentioned yesterday I have a process for doing my hotel laundry as shown below. This is exciting, I assure you.

Or not.

First they go in the shower. They go in the bucket to the left, which doubles as a trash can when not standing in the shower.

First the gym clothes go into the shower

After I wash I squeeze them out, I roll them up in a towel to get more of the moisture out.

After wash, they are rolled partially dry

Then they hang to dry. In 12 hours these are dry so by the next morning they are more than dry enough for the next cycle. More than that, they need to be fully dry before I pack them up when it’s time to leave.

Finally they are hung over the air flow

After I shower up and wash the clothes, I head to the Starbucks to take a call but it’s far too loud to get much done, so we head up to the 3rd floor for lunch and a few of us do some work and take some other calls. By the time I am off my calls everyone has taken off for lunch, and I am on my own with Dylan, who stuck around to wait.

We head to Ramen-Ya for lunch. Broth is decent, meat & eggs are ok. I mean Vegas is not a ramen kind of place. But it’ll do.

Lunch was mediocre ramen with a good broth

After lunch we start this whole SKO thing officially, at 1:00. By 2:00 I have declared this boring AF. Wow, if this is the next 3 days shoot me now.

But you know, cookies.

C is for…

At 5:45 the day is done, already having blown over our time slot. The day was way, way too long. I head back to the room and answer some emails and decide to skip the event, which Tommy does as well. Instead, we head out to grab some dinner before the show tonight.

On a recommendation we hit up Shang Artisan Noodle for dinner. Place is off the beaten path so it’s not standard Vegas. The food here is legit good.

The spicy dumplings were legit spicy
The beef soup was excellent
Finally the noodles hit the spot

For dessert we hit a place Tommy has found, Milkywave. We’ve managed to hit up the Chinatown-ish area so there’s a bunch of different good things to eat. We walked about a mile from dinner to dessert, and again, this is not a walking town.

Milkywave dessert was something a little different

And tonight, we get the Cirque show, Mystere. Tonight’s show was better than last night’s ONE. Again not the most amazing show, but it was very good. A little strange in spots but you know, this is what you’re here for. And again, we got moved to a better seat when we got there. So I guess these early week shows have few people and they want to pack them up front.

Finally, Mystere to wrap up the night

After the show we walk back to the hotel and that’s a wrap on another day. I am beyond tired by the time I hit the hotel and crash for the night.

Leave a comment