Gore Day 1: The Drive North

Friday, February 2, 2019

Like most human beings of reasonable nature, I don’t really like having work conference calls on Friday afternoons. I’m not as bad as some people I work with, who seem to get on their daily check-ins at 9:00 am then disappear for the day. But I try to wrap up the planned calls by 3:00 pm. So, as you might imagine, when I got the invite for a 4:30 pm call I was less than enthused by this. However, since work is pretty lenient with what I can get away with, I took the call.

I took the call while driving to pick up Julia from her friend’s house, which was interrupted by my dentist calling me FOUR different times, and then taking Julia to her mom’s house to get her swim stuff, and finally dropping her off at swim practice. Then, I was able to return home and help D start packing for the trip up north.

We set sail at 7:00 pm, with enough supplies to last for what seemed to be a week. Having said that, I find that as much as we packed for this, it’s a fraction of what we bring for bike trips. I’m not an avid skier by any stretch. But the amount of equipment you need for a full day skiing is far less than that for a full day biking.

On the road again.

We stopped at the first rest stop into New York State, along the Thruway north, to use the restrooms and grab something quick for dinner. After perusing the pizza, as well as fast food joints, we settled on some packaged sandwiches that seemed both reasonably healthy yet filling. I got a sandwich, D got a wrap.

The remainder of the drive was uneventful, save for the car thermometer reading -7 by the time we got off the highway, and D falling asleep for the last 15 minutes of the trip. After 4 hours on the road, we reached our destination.

When we got to the cabin they were both still awake, though we would later find out that Bill had been asleep right before we got there. For the next 2 hours, we would sit on the couches and talk, just hanging out with some good friends on a cold winter night. The cabin was a little chilly though this is always the case on these frigid winter days.

Bill & Brigitte on 1 couch, us on the other.

The dogs love attention. This goes without saying I suppose, but they certainly took any opportunity for us to lay our paws on them.

D pets Ava, who is more than happy to get some affection.
Legit puppy-dog eyes going on here.
Khaleesi is like, “What about me?!”

Even though the cabin was not especially warm, the fire is always a welcomed sight (and feel). Log after log went on, with the temps slowly rising with each passing hour. After 2 hours, when the clock was almost at 1:00 am, we called it a night. It’s always good to catch up with some friends but we needed to catch up on some sleep as well. The weekend was just starting. Lots of weekend yet left to come.

Tomorrow we ski!

Always an enjoyable piece of the winter night.

Leave a comment