Tremblant Day 3: Snow Tubing and the Xmas Eve

Got a bit more solid sleep last night, but still woke up tired. The boys slept until 10:00 so we were all pretty beat from the day before. The ski hill takes it out of you, for sure. Aside from the actual skiing, being outside when it’s 15 degrees all day adds to the exhaustion. This was partially why I wanted to ski the 1st, 3rd, and 5th day of the trip, so I had some time in between to relax. As it turns out, we’ll likely be doing days 1/3/4 because of the ticket situation here. The details of that don’t really matter. I’ll just be looking to get my first back-to-back earlier than I expected. Last night, when going to bed, I was having a little bit of that motion thing going on but it wasn’t too bad and it didn’t keep me awake. 

We ran some errands today before the boys were even awake. That included a quick stop at Starbucks to chill for a few minutes and have some coffee. It’s nice now and again to have some us time when we come up here, which is a pretty rare thing.

Quick timeout for some us time.

Came back home and Philippe was making donuts. He’s the relative (D’s sister’s husband) who I occasionally mountain bikes with. We rode Chimney Rock together the Monday after we got married. No bikes today. Just donuts.

Time to make the donuts.

After lunch we went a small local hill where we did some snow tubing for 2 hours. It’s not the monster hill (which is 45 minutes away) but it’s bigger than I had remember. This is one of the things Julia would have enjoyed up here, so I missed her being here for this. She’s at home with her mother, sick with a low-level fever, and a bad cough. It’s a bad set of circumstances and there’s nothing I can do about it. But it still makes me feel bad that she’s home napping on the couch while we’re out snow tubing. In any event, the day was fun. The afternoon before Xmas, and very few people on the trails so we really didn’t need to wait. 

We just laying around all up in here.

I do like the fact they keep going with normal activities through the Xmas holiday up here. Today we got more runs than ever before, because there was almost no waiting the whole day. Tomorrow we’re going skiing again because very few people go out on Xmas day. We’ll be opening presents tonight, so we can wake up and ski in the morning. I’m totally on board with this approach. 

Right before dinner was done, Julia called me. She had just woken up and sounded flat but ok. She’s excited about Xmas still, and she’ll go stay with my parents tomorrow. I think (hope?) the medicine of presents may help make her feel better. We’ll drive back Friday and have Xmas with my parents Saturday & Sunday. Hoping she is better by then.

Dinner was on us tonight. We made Japanese curry. We go to this well often but it’s easy and very enjoyable.

Nailing down the day with Japanese curry.

Leave a comment